Email This Post Email This Post Print This Post Print This Post

News from Gale Brewer

Manhattan Solid Waste Advisory Board appointees announced

I appoint members to the Manhattan Solid Waste Advisory Board (SWAB), the borough’s leading environmental body, to advise us on increasing recycling, reducing solid waste, and advancing sustainability. Similar to Community Boards, members are appointed to two-year terms and have the ability to make a big impact in reducing our carbon footprint.

I’m pleased to announce these 38 appointees to the Manhattan SWAB for the 2020-2022 term. They live or work in all 12 Manhattan community districts, are founders of environmental organizations, policy advocates, teachers, government workers, carting and recycling industry professionals, lawyers, sustainability consultants, and retirees. They are residents of rent-regulated housing, market-rate housing, condos and co-ops, Mitchell-lama, NYCHA, HDFC co-ops, and single homes. 26.3% of appointees self-identified as People of Color and/or Latinx. And all appointees possess the knowledge, passion, and commitment to bring New York City closer to Zero Waste by 2030. Please join me in congratulating them!

List of Appointed Members: Rona Banai, Margot Becker, Joyce Bialik, Diana Blackwell, Matthew Civello, Maggie Clarke, Debby Lee Cohen, Peter Cohen, Ellen Cooper, DeNeile Cooper, Lorial Crowder, Ann Marie Cunningham, Meredith Danberg-Ficarelli, Kimberly Davis, Lisa Denby (at the recommendation of Councilmember Rivera), Wendy Frank, Katherine Hanner, Cullen Howe, Sophia Huda, Melissa Iachan, Christine Johnson, Sarah Lehrich, Kate Mikuliak, Kathy Nizzari (at the recommendation of Speaker Johnson), Alexis Obernauer, Diane Orr, Jacquelyn Ottman, Ushma Pandya, Kristi Parson, Tinia Pina, John Reali, Martin Robertson, Rick Schulman, Brendan Sexton, Marc Shifflett, Amy Uong, Aditi Varshneya, Chana Widawski

Categories: News from Gale Brewer