Manhattan BP Levine, Elected Officials Condemn Former President Trump for Inciting Unrest


PRESS RELEASE FOR: Tuesday, March 21, 2023
Contact: Winthrop Roosevelt // 617-680-0158 //

Manhattan, NY – Tuesday, Manhattan Borough President Mark Levine, along with other Manhattan elected officials, issued a statement supporting Manhattan District Attorney Alvin Bragg and condemning former President Trump for potentially inciting unrest in Manhattan:

“We are deeply troubled by the threats being directed at Manhattan District Attorney Alvin Bragg in the wake of former President Trump’s announcement that he expects to be arrested. Mr. Trump’s call for protests to ‘take our country back’ in the wake of his possible arrest is reminiscent of his statements prior to the January 6 insurrection.

We have full confidence that DA Bragg will only move to indict Mr. Trump when and if he is certain the facts and the law warrant it.

We know that DA Bragg will not be intimidated by threats directed at him and his office and that he will not allow it to influence the course of the case against Mr. Trump. Anyone issuing these threats with the goal of disrupting the work of the Manhattan District Attorney’s office will be sorely disappointed.

New Yorkers should know that officials at all levels of government are already preparing for this possibility and will do everything possible to keep the public safe in the event of another round of dangerous actions by Mr. Trump’s supporters.

New York City, like DA Bragg, will not be intimidated. We will fight for a judicial system that ensures that no one, even a former president, is above the law.”

Mark Levine                                            Jerrold Nadler
Manhattan Borough President                U.S. Congress

Adriano Espaillat                    Daniel Goldman
U.S. Congress                        U.S. Congress

Brad Hoylman-Sigal              Liz Krueger
State Senate                        State Senate

Jose M. Serrano                   Cordell Cleare
State Senate                        State Senate

Robert Jackson                   Manny De Los Santos
State Senate                        State Assembly

Al Taylor                                Inez Dickens
State Assembly                     State Assembly

Eddie Gibbs                           Rebecca Seawright
State Assembly                      State Assembly

Alex Bores                             Danny O’Donnell
State Assembly                      State Assembly

Linda Rosenthal                    Tony Simone
State Assembly                      State Assembly

Deborah Glick                        Harvey Epstein
State Assembly                      State Assembly

Grace Lee                              Charles Fall
State Assembly                      State Assembly

Christopher Marte                   Carlina Rivera
City Council                            City Council

Erik Bottcher                          Keith Powers
City Council                            City Council

Julie Menin                            Gale Brewer
City Council                           City Council

Shaun Abreu                        Diana Ayala
City Council                         City Council

Carmen De La Rosa
City Council

# # #

Press Inquiries

Please direct all press inquiries to